Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Series Books!

What could be better than finishing an amazing book? A book that you were so excited to read and fulfilled your every expectation of greatness? Realizing the story isn’t over because it’s part of a series!

Series books always seem to be popular: do remember your child asking for the new Wimpy Kid? or the new Rick Riordan? We certainly do! Some series books are very well known and loved: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, or The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. There are many ways to determine is a book is part of a series - A Series of Unfortunate Events is an informative and fun play on words that lets the reader know there are more books coming. And sometimes, publishers just print the volume number on the front cover, like all of the Magic Tree House books.

But sometimes it can be hard to tell if a book is part of a series! Like the Wizard of Oz, or The Borrowers? They are!

Here’s a brief list of some of our favorite books that you may not know are part of a series:

A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle

The Time Quintet begins with Newbery Medal winning A Wrinkle In Time. The story is told by Meg, and is about her and her family after their father, a government scientist, goes missing while working on a mysterious project called a tesseract.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver series begins with Newbery Medal winning The Giver. It is followed by Gathering Blue and Messenger. The story revolves around Jonas, who becomes the next Receiver of Memory in his utopian community.


The Cricket In Times Square by George Seldon

Chester is a cricket from Connecticut who gets caught on a commuter rail heading to New York City. He is taken in by Mario Bellini, whose parents run a newsstand and decide to keep Chester around for good luck. Follow Chester Cricket through all 7 of his adventures!

Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi

The Crispin series begins with the Cross of Lead. A 13 year old boy lives in England in 1377. When his mother dies, he turns to the village priest who promises to reveal to Crispin information about his true father. The priest is murdered before he can, and Crispin must flee for his life! Crispin’s adventures continue through 3 more books.

No comments: